UAE motorsport achievers honoured at glittering Night of Champions

The Night of Champions, held to honour the 2010/2011 motorsport champions, took place at the Courtyard Marriott on Thursday (21 April 2011) evening and hosted by Dubai Autodrome Chairman Saeed Khalfan, at the Courtyard Marriott in Green Community, Dubai.


Special guests included FIA Vice President for Sport and ATCUAE President who was on hand to present awards to the champions and appreciation awards to Dubai Sport Channel, Dubai Ambulance services, Dubai Airport Customs, DTCM and Dubai Police.

UAE Motorsport

During the course of the evening a special tribute was given in memory of Christophe Hissette and Pascal Grosjean who passed away at the circuit in 2010.


Below is the speech by Dubai Autodrome Chairman Saeed Khalfan during the Night of Champions:


"It is always a proud time of the year for UAE motorsport when we award our champions for their great achievements during the course of a season past.


"Tonight we honoured the 2010/2011 UAE national champions for: the Cytech UAE GT Championship, Total UAE Touring Car Championship, UAE Sportbikes Championship, UAE Sportcars Championship, Radical Cup, the various DAMC Karting championships and the SWS Endurance Championship.


"Looking back on the year I recollect some fantastic, unforgettable moments and also some very sad moments, but all in all we can celebrate another step forward for our sport. Together we have endured the trials and tribulations that inevitably are part and parcel of any motor racing season.


"Tonight is a celebration of the best the sport has to offer, those who have triumphed against very tough competition, in unique conditions that only our region can muster.


"I salute and congratulate not only all the champions, but the support structure that helped them become champions: the engineers, the mechanics, the crews, the marshals, the officials and perhaps most importantly the families - without the efforts from these elements they would not be champions.


"To those who were unable to win a title this year, I say: next season is another season to set the record straight and to challenge those who are here tonight to be awarded. Next year it could be you…"

The annual awards event was organised by the DAMC (Dubai Autodrome Motorsport Club)


The 2010/2011 champions honoured on the night were:

Karim Al Azhari: Cytech UAEGT A Driver Champion

House of Portier/ TAM: Cytech UAEGT A Team Champion

Jon Simmonds: Cytech UAEGT B Driver Champion

Alex Renner Motors: Cytech UAEGT B Team Champion

Joe Ghanem: Cytech UAEGT C Team Champion

GulfSport: Cytech UAEGT C Team Champion

Khalid Bin Hader: Total UAE Touring Car Class 1 Champion

Umair Khan: Total UAE Touring Car Class 2 Champion

Mario Dias: Total UAE Touring Car Class 3 Champion

Abdulaziz Binladen: UAE Sportbike Champion 1000 Class

Jason Burnside: UAE Sportbike Champion 600 Class

Jordan Grogor: UAE Sportscars Group A Champion

Jeremy Lester: UAE Sportscars Group B Champion

Jordan Grogor: Gulf Radical Cup Winner

Thomas Bale: DAMC Karting Champion Cadet Class;

Abdullah Al Rawahi: DAMC Karting Champion Junior Max Class;

Maurits Knopjes: DAMC Karting Champion Senior Max Class;

Paul Walsh: DAMC Karting Champion Max Master Class;

Sheikh Khalid Al Nehayan: DAMC Karting Champion DD2 Class;

Sam Zian: DAMC SWS Star Cup Champion

Rami Azzam: DAMC SWS Master Cup Champion

Team Batelco: Motorcity Endurance Champions

OMD Racing: Motorcity Endurance Corporate Champions

Sanad Al Rawahi: Marriott award for Karting Rookie of the Year