Ishan sparkles as Smashers gallop Past Stallions in the Ring of Fire T20 league

Mavericks Team at the Ring of Fire T20 league Mavericks Team at the Ring of Fire T20 league

Two half centuries and a four-wicket haul were the highlights of the first day’s play of the DCC-Mavericks Ring of Fire T20 league played at the Dubai International Stadium.
The six-team tournament played on single round robin format is organized by DCC for the third successive tournament in the current season in partnership with Mavericks Cricket Club.
Man of the match Ishan Zutshi set the ball rolling with a match-winning knock of 75. His 46-ball knock, which contained a dozen fours and a six, was good enough to help ABB Smashers gallop past Dubai Stallions by nine wickets.

Stallions had won the toss and scored 137 for 6 from their 20 overs. Hamza Sajjad (28), Muhammad Waseem (25), Sohaib Aziz (24) and Usman Baig (23) contributed to the total. Jaffer Sharif and Shahbaz Hameed bagged two wickets apiece for Smashers.
Then Ishan in the company of Amandeep Singh (31 not out) went about getting those runs without much ado.
Amandeep played the supporting role to a nicety while Syed Hussain chipped in with 11 runs to take their team home in 16.1 overs.
In another match unbeaten knocks from man of the match Khurram Shahzad (52) and Muhammad Junaid (43) helped Mavericks CC beat Rowdy XI by seven wickets.
Rowdy posted 142 for 6 after winning the toss with Kunal Jain (47) being their top-scorer. Ajay Sapru (24) and Moiz Jepurwala (30) were the other contributors.
Muhammad Rumman returned with three wickets for 27 runs.
In reply, Khurram, Junaid and Akif Hamid (22) made the task look simple by winning it for their team with seven balls to spare.

A four-wicket haul by man of the match Mohammed Afzal enabled Dubai Mammoths down Darjeeling CC by 33 runs.
Ambey Parwatkar (35) and Sameer Ali Khan (34) helped Mammoths to a healthy 160 for 7. Later Afzal and Shiva Pagarani (2 for 22) bowled Darjeeling out for 133 despite Vivian Botha (25), Jonathan Houghton (24), Jamie Smibert (24) and Kym Harris (14) trying in vain to pull off a victory.

Brief scores:
ABB Smashers beat Dubai Stallions by nine wickets
Dubai Stallions 137 for 6 in 20 overs (Hamza Sajjad 28, Muhammad Waseem 25, Sohaib Aziz 24, Usman Baig 23; Jaffer Sharif 2/22, Shahbaz Hameed 2/20) ABB Smashers 138 for 1 in 16.1 overs (Ishan Zutshi 75, Amandeep Singh 31 n.o.). Man of the match: Ishan Zutshi of Smashers.
Mavericks CC beat Rowdy XI by seven wickets
Rowdy 142 for 6 in 20 overs (Kunal Jain 47, Ajay Sapru 24, Moiz Jepurwala 30; Muhammad Rumman 3/27) Mavericks 143 for 3 in 18.5 overs (Khurram Shahzad 52 n.o., Muhammad Junaid 43 n.o., Akif Junaid 22). Man of the match: Khurram Shahzad of Mavericks.
Dubai Mammoths beat Darjeeling CC by 27 runs
Dubai Mammoths 160 for 7 in 20 overs (Ambey Parwatkar 35, Sameer Ali Khan 34; Greg Moses 2/26, Kym Harris 2/29, Sugeesha Dinushan 2/14) Darjeeling 133 all out in 19.5 overs (Vivian Botha 25, Jonathan Houghton 24, Jamie Smitbert 24; Mohammed Afzal 4/35, Shiva Pagarani 2/22). Man of the match: Mohammed Afzal of Dubai Mammoths.